Headline News

Nick Cassidy Wins Rd. 3 at Sugo


The Super Formula 53 lap (190 km) race took place under cloudy, cool conditions (20℃) at Sportsland Sugo. The track temperature was 25℃, which would prove to be much cooler than many of the drivers would have wanted, to help them warm up their cold tires.

Sergio Sette Camara, who captured pole in just his first Super Formula qualifying just hours before the race, had yet to practice race starts in the SF19. Once it was lights out in the race, Ryo Hirakawa was able to get past Sette Camara, who honestly didn’t have a bad start. Going into the first corner, Kazuki Nakajima’s car slid into P3 starter Sacha Fenestraz’s machine, causing Sacha to retire in the first lap of the race for the 2nd event in a row.

On lap 1, it was P1 Hirakawa, P2 Sette Camara, P3 Nick Cassidy, P4 Naoki Yamamoto, P5 Tomoki Nojiri, P6 Yuhi Sekiguchi. The drivers stayed in those places until Naoki Yamamoto overtook Nick on lap 4. During lap 5, Kazuki Nakajima had to go in to get a new front nose due to the contact with Sacha at the beginning of the race.

Former F1 driver Kamui Kobyashi, who started in P18 for the race, began a passing extravaganza. He was up to P7 by lap 8. On lap 11 of 53, Kamui pitted for the mandatory tire change.

Yamamoto started pursuing Sette Camara heavily on lap 12, as Hirakawa continued to build up his lead. It took Yamamoto until lap 18 to overtake Sette Camara. Nick also passed Sette Camara on that lap, too. Sette Camara in turn went to the pits to change tires, where it took 17 seconds to finish the task. He came back out onto the track with cold tires, and he skid off the tarmac into the barriers in the 2nd corner. This brought out the safety car. On lap 27, the safety car left the track.

After having a fresh set of boots on, Nick Cassidy knew his car would perform the way he wanted to, if given the chance once the safety car left the track. And that chance came on lap 29, when he overtook Yamamoto, then Hirakawa. Nick didn’t look back after that, winning his first race since Suzuka in 2019. In P2 was Hirakawa, P3 Yamamoto, P4 Nojiri, P5 Yuji Kunimoto, P6 Kenta Yamashita.

P.1 Nick Cassidy

P.2 Ryo Hirakawa

P.3 Naoki Yamamoto



  • 鈴鹿サーキット
  • オートポリス
  • スポーツランドSUGO
  • 富士スピードウェイ
  • ツインリンクもてぎ
  • 岡山国際サーキット


Official Youtube




  • デロイト トーマツ コンサルティング合同会社
  • 株式会社ホンダレーシング
  • 株式会社スリーボンド
  • 横浜ゴム株式会社
  • Viron Japan 株式会社


  • 富士通株式会社
  • 株式会社M-TEC
  • 国立大学法人東京大学
  • 東京電力エナジーパートナー株式会社
  • 日本自然エネルギー株式会社
  • sgzk
  • 人気酒造株式会社
  • 株式会社ジェイ・スポーツ